I claimed a draw and nothing happened

I claimed a draw and nothing happened

Help

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Master of None

Joined
25 Nov 20
Moves
74721
24 Aug 22

The game is: https://www.redhotpawn.com/chess/play-chess.php?gameid=14920195

I claimed a draw at my last move, and nothing happened. What happens now?

Dave

S.Yorks.England

Joined
18 Apr 10
Moves
84421
25 Aug 22

@jon3141 said
The game is: https://www.redhotpawn.com/chess/play-chess.php?gameid=14920195

I claimed a draw at my last move, and nothing happened. What happens now?
Although we know you can't checkmate with just King and Knight, I believe the site definition of "insufficient material" is just 2 Kings.

Patzer

Canberra

Joined
16 Oct 06
Moves
12006
19 Oct 22

no that's not true - one side having a knight also qualifies as insufficient material

mlb62

Joined
20 May 17
Moves
16072
19 Oct 22

@ptobler said
no that's not true - one side having a knight also qualifies as insufficient material
You're both right..I think Venda meant that the programmers of this website put just two kings as an automatic draw. Maybe at this point your opponent has a message that you "offered " a draw for him to accept...

lb

Joined
19 Oct 22
Moves
20
22 Oct 22

Felis Australis

Australia

Joined
20 Jan 09
Moves
387309
22 Oct 22

Two buttons offered on your playing page:
"Offer draw" means "I think this game should be drawn. What do you, my opponent, think?" Opponent may still choose to play on, or even resign or abandon the game.
"Claim draw" means "This game must end in a draw according to chess rules. Software program, please take action." Opponent isn't even consulted.