1. Joined
    24 Sep '06
    Moves
    3736
    16 Oct '08 17:13
    How can I randomly generate 6 numbers (prefferably 1-6) on a scientific calculator.

    I was sitting in my calculus class inventing a pen and paper, single player, RPG game; this dice is the last facet I need.

    Tossing dice on a desk in a calculus class tends to draw attention.
  2. Joined
    31 May '07
    Moves
    696
    16 Oct '08 18:06
    if your calculator cannot generate random numbers (many calculators, even scientific ones, can't) then just do something like this:
    1+1 =
    ans + 1 =

    then when the teacher starts a new sentence, press = repeatedly until they say a word that has an e in it. Then find the number on your calculator mod 10, add 1, and you have your die.
  3. e4
    Joined
    06 May '08
    Moves
    42492
    16 Oct '08 18:43
    Get a rubber dice.
  4. Joined
    25 Aug '06
    Moves
    0
    16 Oct '08 20:232 edits
    Originally posted by nihilismor
    How can I randomly generate 6 numbers (prefferably 1-6) on a scientific calculator.

    I was sitting in my calculus class inventing a pen and paper, single player, RPG game; this dice is the last facet I need.

    Tossing dice on a desk in a calculus class tends to draw attention.
    Enter an initial random number between -2 and 2, which you get from the current time and date. For example, if the time is 01:25 and the date is 03/08/2006, you may enter 0.012503082006.

    Now square the number and subtract 2. For your random number take, say, always the 5th significant digit of the result (so if the result is -1.6734173461374 your number is 4). If the number is not in the range 1-6, just square and subtract 2 again, until you get a number in that range.

    To get the next random number, again square and subtract 2, etc.

    This is not a very good random number generator but for playing a game is a calculus class it is good enough.😛
  5. Joined
    24 Sep '06
    Moves
    3736
    16 Oct '08 23:36
    Thank you. These are all fantastic ideas.
  6. Joined
    15 Jun '06
    Moves
    16334
    17 Oct '08 01:52
    Originally posted by nihilismor
    How can I randomly generate 6 numbers (prefferably 1-6) on a scientific calculator.

    I was sitting in my calculus class inventing a pen and paper, single player, RPG game; this dice is the last facet I need.

    Tossing dice on a desk in a calculus class tends to draw attention.
    Most new texas intstrument calculators have dice in the probability application... to get there you have to press the button that says apps.
  7. Standard memberAThousandYoung
    Insanity at Masada
    tinyurl.com/mw7txe34
    Joined
    23 Aug '04
    Moves
    26660
    17 Oct '08 04:30
    Originally posted by nihilismor
    How can I randomly generate 6 numbers (prefferably 1-6) on a scientific calculator.

    I was sitting in my calculus class inventing a pen and paper, single player, RPG game; this dice is the last facet I need.

    Tossing dice on a desk in a calculus class tends to draw attention.
    Drop bits of paper on it and see what button they land on.
  8. Shanghai
    Joined
    16 Feb '06
    Moves
    131146
    18 Oct '08 07:08
    casio calculators have ran# function that generates a random number between 0 and 1. I would have thought random numbers were a standard feature on a scientific calculator.
  9. ALG
    Joined
    16 Dec '07
    Moves
    6190
    18 Oct '08 09:59
    Originally posted by nihilismor
    How can I randomly generate 6 numbers (prefferably 1-6) on a scientific calculator.

    I was sitting in my calculus class inventing a pen and paper, single player, RPG game; this dice is the last facet I need.

    Tossing dice on a desk in a calculus class tends to draw attention.
    What calculator do you have?
    I have a TI-84 Plus, if you make a program, press catalog (2nd+0) and choose 'randInt(' Then you can make this: randInt(1,6)'sto>'A
  10. Subscribersonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    slatington, pa, usa
    Joined
    28 Dec '04
    Moves
    53223
    18 Oct '08 12:18
    You can just enter PI*2 and use the first 6 digits from one to six, then go PI*3 and use those first digits of 1-6, then PI*4, etc.
  11. Standard memberforkedknight
    Defend the Universe
    127.0.0.1
    Joined
    18 Dec '03
    Moves
    16687
    19 Oct '08 18:25
    Originally posted by Thomaster
    What calculator do you have?
    I have a TI-84 Plus, if you make a program, press catalog (2nd+0) and choose 'randInt(' Then you can make this: randInt(1,6)'sto>'A
    Second that for a TI-86, i haven't used a TI-83 in a while, but I thought it had a randIn function as well.

    Otherwise you can just take the ceiling of rand * 6
  12. Joined
    24 Nov '05
    Moves
    1113
    20 Oct '08 20:38
    The Ti-84+ is essentially a TI-83+ with more memory. The randInt( function is still there. I actually have a program written out for dice rolls, you can PM me for it.
  13. Joined
    15 Jun '06
    Moves
    16334
    21 Oct '08 03:17
    Originally posted by ketch90
    The Ti-84+ is essentially a TI-83+ with more memory. The randInt( function is still there. I actually have a program written out for dice rolls, you can PM me for it.
    There is no need. Ti-83 and up comes with the dice function. It even has animation.
  14. Joined
    24 Nov '05
    Moves
    1113
    21 Oct '08 05:33
    Yeah but I got a used one that had the RAM and Archive cleared.
  15. Subscribersonhouse
    Fast and Curious
    slatington, pa, usa
    Joined
    28 Dec '04
    Moves
    53223
    21 Oct '08 07:43
    Originally posted by ketch90
    Yeah but I got a used one that had the RAM and Archive cleared.
    Archive should be ROM not ram, I think anyway. It should not have gone bye bye along with working ram.
Back to Top

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.I Agree