Recklessly playing the Evan's Gambit

Recklessly playing the Evan's Gambit

Only Chess

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

U

Moves
13 Mar 13

On move 11 I stupidly gave up a piece. I was thinking "Bishop for bishop & pawn plus force king to move", forgetting he had just taken my knight. I figured I would play on and try to throw the kitchen sink at him with my active pieces.

The last several moves I relied heavily on the "Analyze board" feature. I wish I had the chess vision to see that many moves ahead without it, but I'm still learning.

All comments and suggestions are appreciated!

w

on your backrank!

Moves
13 Mar 13
1 edit

of course you blundered on move 11 but from there on you played very well!
The most important lesson to learn from your game is

"don't give up just because of a material deficit. If you have an active position it'll probably be difficult for your opp to defend"

edit: oops, you missed a mate in 1, didn't you??

U

Moves
13 Mar 13

Originally posted by watchyourbackrank

edit: oops, you missed a mate in 1, didn't you??
Where??

FL

Moves
13 Mar 13

Originally posted by USArmyParatrooper
Where??
On your very last move. You had something better than Bc1+.

U

Moves
13 Mar 13
1 edit

Originally posted by Fat Lady
On your very last move. You had something better than Bc1+.
Nh3++

🙁 why do I miss this stuff!

FL

Moves
13 Mar 13
1 edit

To give your tactical muscles a workout, have a look at the position after Black's 21st move:

The move which jumped out at me in this position was 22. Re5+. I think White has a forced mate, but I'm not 100% sure I haven't missed anything. See how far you can analyse, firstly just in your head and then with the help of the analysis board (or a real one!).

U

Moves
13 Mar 13

To give your tactical muscles a workout, have a look at the position after Black's 21st move: