1. S. Korea
    Moves
    12 Jul '20 00:36
    A very excellent Twitter thread was presented to us by the evolutionary biologist Colin Wright.

It dealt with cancel culture and how it affected him and his career in academia. In another place, he actually tweeted about how cancel culture is not just a thing that affects famous people and is a refelction of what we want to see on our airwaves, but ultimately is something that has victimized thousands (if not tens of thousands) of people that you have never heard of, and probably has actively discouraged many others from certain career paths or choices, knowing that they would not fit in and be potentially prevented from advancement because of their political beliefs.

The link itself (provided below) would be better to read because there are some attached images, but I will post the text here:

1/ What is cancel culture? A few months ago I was a postdoc at Penn State with an soon-expiring contract, job hunting for tenure track professorships.

I posted the following tweet citing the well-known "social contagion" hypothesis forwarded by Dr Lisa Littman's work on ROGD.

2/ Some people thought this was cancel-worthy & attempted to spread word of my "vile transphobia" to my colleagues, even tagging diversity organizations in my field.

"Colin is on the job market. I hope the EEB community is paying attention."

The goal was to limit my employment.

3/ Then some activist posted a "job" on the largest job board in my field, visited by hundreds if not thousands of biologists a day during hiring season, that read:

"Colin Wright is a Transphobe who supports Race Science."

People also told me they contacted hiring committees.

4/ Then, of course, came the absurd gaslighting.

"Heavens no! We aren't trying to prevent anyone from getting a job! We certainly don't want anyone blacklisted! Besides, a graduate student like Kevin Bird doesn't even have that kind of power!"

Yeah, right.🙄