Jazz question

Jazz question

Culture

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

s

At the Revolution

Moves
04 Aug 08

As a dedicated jazz pianist, I thought I'd post this in the club forum for my club (the Jazz club) and in this public forum. Any suggestions welcome.

I am about to audition for a position as a jazz pianist in a local combo. The position is very privileged, and the combo player is essentially the best jazz pianist in the community. Problem is, there's another guy running against me who is very formidable. I am taking extra jazz lessons, but the guy has much more experience under his belt than I, and the combo organizers feel they owe him for a favor that he did for them in the past. Other problem is, everyone's saying I'm really the better pianist, a statement to which I (obviously) agree. Any tips for getting a better chance to beat the guy in the auditions (this October)?

BWA Soldier

Tha Brotha Hood

Moves
04 Aug 08

Get a hat like Thelonious Monk.

s

At the Revolution

Moves
04 Aug 08

Originally posted by DoctorScribbles
As an Arab-American, even though a Monk hat would look pretty cool, I would look ridiculous in it. Thanks for the advice though. 🙂

STS

Moves
05 Aug 08
1 edit

Then wear a fez and dark sunglasses. Smoke with a big long cigarette holder. Dress in a cheap ill-fitting suit with a bow tie. Develop an evil, sadistic Peter Lorre giggle and laugh insanely when you play. I bet it would look perfect on you.

b
Filthy sinner

Outskirts of bliss

Moves
05 Aug 08

Originally posted by scherzo
As a dedicated jazz pianist, I thought I'd post this in the club forum for my club (the Jazz club) and in this public forum. Any suggestions welcome.