1. Georgia, USA
    Moves
    26 Oct '08 17:02
    I am a novice, but I do love this game. I would like to buy a book about chess that explains a lot of these terms and manuevers that I hear bandied about on this site. Remember, the book shouldn't be geared towards experts. It should also be a book that I am likely to find in a book store at the mall - not something that's rare or hard to find.

Any recommendations?

Thanks.
  2. Joined
    26 Jun '06
    Moves
    26 Oct '08 17:02
    Originally posted by CamelClutch
    I am a novice, but I do love this game. I would like to buy a book about chess that explains a lot of these terms and manuevers that I hear bandied about on this site. Remember, the book shouldn't be geared towards experts. It should also be a book that I am likely to find in a book store at the mall - not something that's rare or hard to find.

Any recommendations?

Thanks.
    tips for young players,
    my fav book of all time
  3. Joined
    19 Jun '06
    Moves
    26 Oct '08 18:35

Any recommendations?

Thanks.
    I'm "wrestling" with just how to answer your question. (pun definitely intended)

No one book is going to teach you everything about chess, but a good single volume instructional book for novices is Patrick Wolff's "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Chess", 3rd edition. It's a good book, despite the insulting title. And it's in most book stores that carry a decent selection of chess books.
  4. Joined
    14 Jul '06
    Moves
    26 Oct '08 18:42
    Logical Chess Move by Move
    You can view some of the first few pages here:
    http://tinyurl.com/6bbn8z
  5. Joined
    26 Jun '06
    Moves
    26 Oct '08 18:44
    Originally posted by Squelchbelch
    Logical Chess Move by Move
    You can view some of the first few pages here:
    http://tinyurl.com/6bbn8z
    yeah thats my 2nd choice. easy to understand and also nicely written
  6. Joined
    12 Jul '08
    Moves
    26 Oct '08 20:16