The shape of a black hole

The shape of a black hole

Science

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moves
18 Aug 09

Often illustrated as a dark swirling disc with little depth compared to width; what 3 dimensional shape is a black hole?

Does it have dimensons? Should it be spherical? Is it mearly gravity creating an optical illusion of shape?

P
Upward Spiral

Halfway

Moves
18 Aug 09

Originally posted by divegeester
Often illustrated as a dark swirling disc with little depth compared to width; what 3 dimensional shape is a black hole?

Does it have dimensons? Should it be spherical? Is it mearly gravity creating an optical illusion of shape?
Interesting topic. I always thought it 'looked' spherical because of the event horizon...

K

Germany

Moves
18 Aug 09

I'm not really an expert on general relativity, but a black hole is a singularity isn't it?

P
Upward Spiral

Halfway

Moves
18 Aug 09
1 edit

Originally posted by KazetNagorra
I'm not really an expert on general relativity, but a black hole is a singularity isn't it?
Accordion to Wikipedia it's not just the singularity, but the "region of space in which the gravitational field is so powerful that nothing, including light, can escape its pull."

I'm no expert, though. What was on your mind? That a singularity has no volume? (Does it?)

Moves
18 Aug 09
1 edit

Images often depict the bipolar jets:

http://www.scienceclarified.com/scitech/images/lsbh_0001_0001_0_img0013.jpg

Here the hole looks flat, but is it actually spherical and just the disc of matter makes it look flat? In either case it clearly has "poles".

F

Moves
18 Aug 09

Images often depict the bipolar jets:

http://www.scienceclarified.com/scitech/images/lsbh_0001_0001_0_img0013.jpg

Here the hole looks flat, but is it actually spherical and just the disc of matter makes it look flat? In either case it clearly has "poles".