1. Standard memberhuckleberryhound
    Devout Agnostic.
    DZ-015
    Moves
    17 Nov '18 12:141 edit
    So I recently (earlier this week) bought a full sized keyboard for my daughter to help her learn piano. As I have a love of music, I've started playing it, trying to see if any of my self taught guitar knowledge could be transferred over to the piano. Managed a simple blues bass line in the key of A.

Long story short, I'm now trying to learn the first movement of moonlight sonata from a YouTube video I found. Working mainly on the left hand, with hope to work on the right when I have a section saved to memory.

Wondering if any of the rhp community had any tips on playing piano, and if they could recommend any music to try and learn? I'm hoping determination is going to win the day. Simple but effective practice exercises would be helpful.

Thanks in advance. Huck
  2. Joined
    06 Nov '15
    Moves
    17 Nov '18 13:343 edits
    @huckleberryhound said
    So I recently (earlier this week) bought a full sized keyboard for my daughter to help her learn piano. As I have a love of music, I've started playing it, trying to see if any of my self taught guitar knowledge could be transferred over to the piano. Managed a simple blues bass line in the key of A.

Long story short, I'm now trying to learn the first movement of ...[text shortened]... win the day. Simple but effective practice exercises would be helpful.

Thanks in advance. Huck
    Bravo!
    Buona fortuna. Penso di questo ci serva bene.

YouTube

I'm not sure why Chopin's Nocturne Opus 9 will not playback via this link. But it's beautiful and worth trying.
  3. Joined
    14 Mar '04
    Moves
    17 Nov '18 14:22
    @huckleberryhound said

Long story short, I'm now trying to learn the first movement of ...[text shortened]... win the day. Simple but effective practice exercises would be helpful.

Thanks in advance. Huck