1. Joined
    11 Sep '19
    Moves
    11 Sep '19 05:347 edits
    I'm new to chess and this forum. I've purchased a few books for beginners but really need to obtain a full chess set to proceed further.

As much as I'd like a high-quality vintage wooden set and board, it seems to me I'd be better served at this stage by buying a nice quality plastic set with algebraic notation on the board for the ranks and files. I'm not seeking rock-bottom cheap pieces and a flimsy board. Nor do I think it wise for me to purchase an expensive set at this time.

Can the members provide some recommendations? Re: shipping concerns, I live in the USA.
    Also, I want to clarify and listen to experienced players - what your thoughts about this review, can I trust them?

Thanks in advance.
  2. Standard membermchill
    Cryptic
    Behind the scenes
    Moves
    11 Sep '19 06:063 edits
    @chessymessy said
    I'm new to chess and this forum. I've purchased a few books for beginners but really need to obtain a full chess set to proceed further.

As much as I'd like a high-quality vintage wooden set and board, it seems to me I'd be better served at this stage by buying a nice quality plastic set with algebraic notation on the board for the ranks and files. I'm not seeking rock s review, can I trust them?

Thanks in advance.
    The USCF is a decent place to start. Yes - a good quality plastic tournament set is the way to go. Some reasonably priced sets are in the links below. You can also customize things a bit by buying your pieces and board separately. Shipping info and prices are included. JMHO - Stick with green and white or brown and white squares on your board, exotic colors can be a bit distracting.

Welcome to the 64 square universe. Good luck! 🙂

https://www.uscfsales.com/chess-sets/tournament-chess-sets/the-chess-players-combination-single-weighted-color.html

https://www.uscfsales.com/chess-sets/tournament-chess-sets/us-chess-supreme-chess-set-combination.html