1. Joined
    29 Dec '14
    Moves
    28161
    13 Jul '21 21:06
    threefold repetition is not working here

    In chess, the threefold repetition rule states that a player may claim a draw if the same position occurs three times. ... The game is not automatically drawn if a position occurs for the third time – one of the players, on their turn, must claim the draw with the arbiter.
  2. Standard memberAnitya
    Shoshin
    under a fig tree
    Joined
    13 Sep '20
    Moves
    22183
    13 Jul '21 21:36
    @DickKopf
    Claim draw will be available when the same position with the same player's turn appears for the third time. Check your premises.
  3. Donationmwmiller
    RHP Member No.16
    Joined
    25 Feb '01
    Moves
    82605
    14 Jul '21 02:14
    I think a threefold repetition is one of the situations here where you will need to claim the draw when you submit your move. If you have the correct conditions but do not claim the draw, it will not be automatically awarded. If you think you have the draw, just go ahead and claim it. If you are wrong, your claim is ignored and the game continues normally. The "claim draw" button is only present when it is your turn to move.
  4. Joined
    29 Dec '14
    Moves
    28161
    14 Jul '21 05:58
    Thank you. Okay, we'll see. Draw offered. Check out the game:
    https://www.redhotpawn.com/chess/play-chess.php?gameid=14405527&cbqsid=31290
  5. SubscriberPonderable
    chemist
    Linkenheim
    Joined
    22 Apr '05
    Moves
    589841
    14 Jul '21 09:161 edit
    @dickkopf said
    Thank you. Okay, we'll see. Draw offered. Check out the game:
    https://www.redhotpawn.com/chess/play-chess.php?gameid=14405527&cbqsid=31290
    Game 14405527

    When I count the position has been reached two times.
  6. Joined
    29 Dec '14
    Moves
    28161
    16 Jul '21 11:19
    @Ponderable
    The chess partner didn't make a move, so I took the time out. It's a shame, I really wanted to test the system.
  7. Donationmwmiller
    RHP Member No.16
    Joined
    25 Feb '01
    Moves
    82605
    16 Jul '21 16:01
    @dickkopf said
    @Ponderable
    The chess partner didn't make a move, so I took the time out. It's a shame, I really wanted to test the system.
    I can help you to test it.
    I will send you a an unrated game.
    We will take turns moving just one knight back and forth to the same two squares. On each of your moves, click 'claim draw' then submit your move.
    The first two repetitions nothing should happen, but on the third repetion of positons the game should become drawn.
    I will now send a game.
  8. Joined
    29 Dec '14
    Moves
    28161
    17 Jul '21 14:18
    @mwmiller
    Thank you for your commitment. Thanks to you, I got it right now. After the third same move, you must click "Claim Draw" and not "Offer Draw". That was my fault.
  9. Donationmwmiller
    RHP Member No.16
    Joined
    25 Feb '01
    Moves
    82605
    17 Jul '21 16:35
    @DickKopf
    No problem.
    With the 'offer draw', that can be sent at any time with a move, and it is just a mutually agreed draw if both players want it.

    When you 'claim draw', that does not require any action from your opponent, it is granted only when the conditions are correct. As far as I know, that means '3 time repetition of the same position', 'insufficient material to mate', or the '50 move rule'.
Back to Top

Cookies help us deliver our Services. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More.I Agree